Welcome to the International Society of Typographic Designers

Find out who we are, what we do, and how you can become a part of our international community.

We’re recognised as a leading community of designers, educators and typography specialists.

Join us and help set the benchmark for
typographic excellence.

Apply today

Latest offer

TypoGraphic 72

The Protest Issue

Designed by Stephen Banham MISTD (Australia) and Tré Seals (New York), and featuring articles by Lucienne Roberts and Theo Inglis.

Price: £15.00
Member price: £12.00

Browse our shop

Education

Our Student Assessment Scheme stands apart for its academic thoroughness and professionalism.

Graduate and postgraduate students who successfully complete the scheme enjoy full membership of the ISTD and use of the
MISTD post-nominal.

Find out more

Live

Wednesday 18 May 18.30 BST

For our next live event, Mark Holt and Ian McLaren talk about Munich 1972: The Visual Output. Wednesday 18 May 2022 at 13.30 EDT / 18.30 BST / 01.30 AWST.

Watch live on the day

Join in

Typographic practitioner?

ISTD unites global practitioners, academics, writers, critics, researchers, theorists… and anyone else with a love of typography.

Apply now

Not a practitioner?

Not everyone who loves typography has a portfolio to show it. Join as a Friend and enjoy many of the perks anyway.

Join as a friend

Social

We are worldwide